Andel and Novo Bring Wegovy to a Direct-to-Employer Pharmacy Channel
Andel's new collaboration with Novo adds Wegovy injection and oral options to an employer-funded, manufacturer-direct medication marketplace. Employers choose their contribution; client adoption, negotiated prices and realized savings are not disclosed.
Andel and Novo have announced a direct-to-employer distribution collaboration for Wegovy, creating another route for employers to help fund obesity medications outside conventional pharmacy benefit designs. The arrangement was announced on October 28, 2026 and covers Wegovy injection, Wegovy HD and the once-daily Wegovy pill.
This is a manufacturer-to-employer-marketplace partnership, not a disclosed contract between Novo and a named employer. Andel's announcement includes a statement from Novo's senior vice president for market access and public affairs, supporting the existence of the collaboration. It does not identify employer clients that have elected the new offering.
How the employer model works
Andel describes a cooperative medication marketplace connecting employers and drug manufacturers. Under the newly announced collaboration:
- Employers set a contribution toward an eligible employee's prescribed Wegovy treatment, rather than committing to an undisclosed universal benefit amount.
- Manufacturer-direct pricing is offered through Andel's pharmacy platform, alongside existing employee health benefits.
- Andel coordinates prescription verification and delivery through its application.
- Employees can continue using their existing clinicians; Andel says its program operates outside traditional pharmacy insurance processing.
Andel's employer-facing materials describe a pay-per-fill model, under which employers pay when participating members fill prescriptions. The October announcement does not publish the full commercial terms governing the Novo collaboration or establish whether every employer on Andel's platform has immediate access to each formulation.
This structure is distinct from a conventional pharmacy benefit manager (PBM) rebate arrangement. It also differs from an employer negotiating an exclusive direct purchase agreement with the manufacturer. The public evidence supports a manufacturer-to-platform arrangement offered to employers, not a signed agreement with any particular employer.
What is known—and what remains undisclosed
| Measure | Publicly documented status |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer | Novo, the maker of Wegovy |
| Employer purchasing platform | Andel |
| Announcement date | October 28, 2026 |
| Medication category | Obesity treatment / GLP-1 pharmacy |
| Products named | Wegovy injection, Wegovy HD and Wegovy pill |
| Geography | United States; employer-by-employer availability not specified |
| Purchasing structure | Employer-defined contribution, manufacturer-direct pricing, pay-per-fill marketplace |
| Named employer adopters | Not disclosed |
| Incremental employees or covered lives | Not disclosed |
| Andel–Novo negotiated price or employer fees | Not disclosed |
| Contract term, launch utilization or employer savings | Not disclosed |
Novo Nordisk separately confirmed that the Wegovy pill became available nationally in January 2026 and Wegovy HD received FDA approval in March 2026. Those earlier product milestones are not new October launches. The October development is the new employer purchasing channel.
Savings: a purchasing proposition, not a measured outcome
Andel markets the model as reducing insurance friction and giving employers control over drug contributions. The partners have not provided a deal-specific rate card, PBM-versus-direct comparison, utilization figures, employer administrative costs, or a measured net-spend outcome.
An employer's chosen contribution could reduce an employee's out-of-pocket payment, but that is not equivalent to demonstrated savings for the employer. Any claim about total cost of care would also need to account for program fees, eligibility, treatment persistence and the comparator pharmacy benefit.
The DirectContract Deal Tracker therefore records no realized savings percentage, employee count or named employer conversion for this collaboration.
Why this matters
Employer direct contracting is extending beyond hospitals, primary care and surgery into manufacturer-linked specialty pharmacy purchasing. Obesity medications are a particularly visible test because employers must balance employee access with recurring pharmacy costs and eligibility design.
Andel's arrangement offers a defined-contribution alternative to a traditional formulary carve-out. The next meaningful disclosures will be actual employer adoption, the all-in price employers and members pay, administrative charges, and whether claims or utilization data show a durable difference from conventional pharmacy benefits.
For other models of direct healthcare purchasing, see the Deal Tracker and the transparent pricing model.
Primary sources
Get the Weekly Direct Contract Briefing
Every Friday, the deals, the contract terms, and the market moves that matter for self-insured employers.
More in Deal Tracker
North Carolina State Health Plan Signs Multiyear Atrium Health Provider Contract
North Carolina's self-insured State Health Plan signed a multiyear contract bringing all remaining Atrium Health hospitals and physicians into its Access tier for 2027. The plan covers nearly 750,000 people, but deal-specific utilization, rates and realized savings are not disclosed.
Read the analysisCovenant HealthCare Joins Nomi Health's Direct Network for Michigan Employers
Covenant HealthCare has joined Nomi Health's Michigan direct-contracting network, offering participating employers access to 20-plus facilities and more than 600 physicians with a stated $0 member out-of-pocket design. Employer uptake, negotiated rates and realized savings are undisclosed.
Read the analysis