Covenant HealthCare Joins Nomi Health's Direct Network for Michigan Employers
Covenant HealthCare has joined Nomi Health's Michigan direct-contracting network, offering participating employers access to 20-plus facilities and more than 600 physicians with a stated $0 member out-of-pocket design. Employer uptake, negotiated rates and realized savings are undisclosed.
Covenant HealthCare has joined Nomi Health's direct-contracting network for self-funded employers in Michigan, adding a major Great Lakes Bay Region health system to an expanding alternative to conventional carrier-mediated provider contracting.
Nomi announced the arrangement on October 27, 2026. Its release describes a direct employer purchasing channel through which employees and families enrolled with participating employers can receive eligible care at $0 out of pocket. Covenant's chief financial officer also commented in the announcement, providing first-party confirmation of the health system's participation.
This is a documented health-system-to-employer-network arrangement. It is not a disclosed agreement with a named individual employer, nor evidence that every Nomi client has activated Covenant access.
What the agreement adds
Covenant is based in Saginaw and serves Michigan's Great Lakes Bay Region. According to the partners, the new network arrangement covers access across:
- More than 20 inpatient and outpatient facilities and a network of over 600 physicians.
- Services spanning emergency and trauma care, cardiovascular medicine, oncology, orthopedics, neurosciences, maternity care and other specialties.
- An employer benefit design described as $0 out-of-pocket care for employees and families covered by participating employers, subject to the applicable employer program.
Nomi says its Michigan direct network also includes Trinity Health Michigan, Henry Ford Health and ProMedica. Covenant therefore adds a regional system to a broader provider purchasing infrastructure rather than launching a standalone national benefit.
The announcement does not disclose whether Covenant's services are available to every employer participating in the wider Nomi network, or whether specific service categories, facilities or plan eligibility conditions differ by employer.
Contract and adoption evidence
| Measure | Public evidence |
|---|---|
| Provider | Covenant HealthCare, Saginaw, Michigan |
| Employer purchasing channel | Nomi Health direct-contracting network for self-funded employers |
| Announcement | October 27, 2026 |
| Geography | Michigan, especially the Great Lakes Bay Region |
| Provider footprint | More than 20 facilities and over 600 physicians |
| Member cost-sharing | $0 out of pocket for eligible employees and families through participating employers, as described by the partners |
| Named employers electing this arrangement | Not disclosed |
| Incremental members covered | Not disclosed |
| Negotiated employer rates, fee schedule or contract duration | Not disclosed |
| Covenant-specific realized savings | Not disclosed |
Nomi reports 2,500 customers and more than 20 million lives impacted across its nationwide business. These are company-wide figures, not Covenant partnership enrollment, and should not be added to a deal-level covered-lives total.
What the savings claim establishes—and what it does not
Nomi describes its direct-contracting model as removing traditional intermediaries, reducing administrative complexity and creating savings for employers without shifting costs to members.
Those are company descriptions of the model, not a quantified, independently verified savings study for the Covenant arrangement. The October announcement provides no negotiated price schedule, claims comparison, utilization denominator, matched benchmark, program fees or actual employer savings calculation.
Likewise, a $0 member out-of-pocket design describes the employee-facing benefit; it does not establish the employer's net price or the total cost of care.
Accordingly, the DirectContract Deal Tracker records no Covenant-specific realized savings percentage or covered-lives count.
Why this matters
Michigan is becoming a useful test of whether self-funded employers can purchase comprehensive regional health-system access through a direct network instead of negotiating separate contracts with each provider. Covenant expands Nomi's network in the Great Lakes Bay Region and adds substantial hospital, specialty and emergency-care capacity.
The next material evidence will be named employer elections, confirmed activation dates, actual employee eligibility, service-specific prices, and measured employer spending after the arrangement goes live. Until then, this is a verified provider-network expansion, not a demonstrated savings outcome.
For context, see the DirectContract tracker for other employer-to-provider network arrangements and the direct contracting methodology for how we classify evidence and savings.
Primary source
Get the Weekly Direct Contract Briefing
Every Friday, the deals, the contract terms, and the market moves that matter for self-insured employers.
More in Deal Tracker
North Carolina State Health Plan Signs Multiyear Atrium Health Provider Contract
North Carolina's self-insured State Health Plan signed a multiyear contract bringing all remaining Atrium Health hospitals and physicians into its Access tier for 2027. The plan covers nearly 750,000 people, but deal-specific utilization, rates and realized savings are not disclosed.
Read the analysisCost Plus Drugs Publishes Employer Rx Contract That Works Alongside Existing PBMs
Cost Plus Wellness contract C082 adds a Cost Plus Drugs employer pharmacy program with configurable drug lists, existing-card routing and transparent reimbursement terms. The published template does not establish employer adoption or realized savings.
Read the analysis