Cost Plus Drugs Publishes Employer Rx Contract That Works Alongside Existing PBMs
Cost Plus Wellness contract C082 adds a Cost Plus Drugs employer pharmacy program with configurable drug lists, existing-card routing and transparent reimbursement terms. The published template does not establish employer adoption or realized savings.
Cost Plus Wellness published contract C082 for Mark Cuban Cost Plus Drugs on October 27, 2026, giving employers and benefit administrators a public framework for purchasing a targeted prescription-drug program without necessarily replacing their incumbent pharmacy benefit manager (PBM).
The addition is notable for two reasons. First, it brings the Cost Plus Drugs pharmacy model into the Cost Plus Wellness public contracting library. Second, the accompanying Employer Rx Program Overview describes a specific benefit design: employers select the medications and copays, employees continue using their existing PBM card, and a separate partner PBM adjudicates program claims.
This is a published contract template and program description, not a verified new agreement with a named employer. The publicly posted agreement leaves the payer/client counterparty and effective date blank. No new covered-life count, signed employer, realized savings or launch utilization is disclosed.
What C082 actually adds
The C082 listing identifies Cost Plus Drugs as a service provider, dates the listing October 27, 2026, and includes a 17-page pharmacy program agreement and four-page employer program overview.
The overview outlines a configurable pharmacy carve-out that can coexist with an employer's incumbent PBM:
- Employer selects drugs and copays. A plan sponsor specifies covered medications by National Drug Code (NDC) and can choose low or zero member copays.
- Employees retain their existing pharmacy card. Cost Plus Drugs recognizes the card's identifiers and maps the member to the separate program.
- A partner PBM adjudicates program claims. Claims for the employer-selected list route to the program's PBM, rather than the incumbent PBM.
- Other prescriptions remain outside the carve-out. Drugs not on the selected list are rejected by the program; members may purchase them at Cost Plus Drugs' cash price, while their original PBM benefit remains available.
- The employer pays the program. The partner PBM handles program claims, invoicing and utilization reporting.
The company lists preventive drugs, chronic-condition treatments, selected specialty medicines, biosimilars and weight-management products as possible design categories. These are examples, not proof that every drug is included, available or priced the same way for every employer. Brand-only medications require separate pricing approval.
How the published pharmacy agreement handles reimbursement
The 17-page agreement addresses mail-order and retail pharmacy networks. For participating mail-order providers, its pricing structure includes drug acquisition/manufacturing cost, a disclosed markup, dispensing fees, standard shipping and any applicable enhanced shipping charges.
For participating retail pharmacies, the reimbursement structure includes acquisition/manufacturing cost, markup, transaction fee and retail dispensing fee. The template calls for separate remittances to the pharmacy and Cost Plus Drugs for the relevant components.
The agreement also states that covered program claims are not subject to separate manufacturer rebate claims by the payer or its benefit-sponsor clients. This is a contractual provision in a proposed agreement, not independently audited evidence that all future implementations operate without spread pricing or rebate leakage.
Importantly, the document does not provide a fixed, universally applicable NDC-level price list. Exhibit B points to Cost Plus Drugs' pricing and API, which can be updated. Employers still need to evaluate their own formulary, fees, claims flow and total net costs.
The published template specifies an initial three-year term with automatic one-year renewals, subject to its notice and termination provisions. Because the counterparty and effective date are blank, that term describes the template, not an executed employer contract.
A carve-out is not the same as eliminating the PBM
The program's strongest operational distinction is that employers can target selected drugs without requiring a wholesale PBM replacement.
That does not mean the model has no PBM or other administrator. The program overview explicitly relies on a partner PBM to build the plan design, adjudicate claims, send utilization data and invoice the employer. The existing PBM continues administering the employee's original pharmacy benefit.
That architecture may reduce implementation friction, but it creates coordination questions around eligibility, member identifiers, accumulators, claims routing, drug availability and reporting. The implementation checklist specifically calls out member-ID translation and whether program claims count toward deductibles and out-of-pocket maximums.
What the evidence establishes
| Field | Verified position |
|---|---|
| Published contract | C082 — Cost Plus Drugs, October 27, 2026 |
| Service | Employer-facing prescription-drug program; mail-order and retail network agreement |
| Model | Configurable NDC carve-out; cost-plus-style reimbursement and program copays |
| Existing PBM | Remains in place for the underlying benefit |
| Program claims administrator | Separate partner PBM; not named in the overview |
| Template term | Three years initially, then one-year renewals |
| Named employer signing C082 | Not disclosed |
| Covered employees or prescriptions | Not disclosed |
| Employer-specific prices or fees | Not disclosed |
| Realized employer savings | Not disclosed |
The Cost Plus Wellness library labels C082 "Used by MCC." That library classification should not be interpreted as proof that an outside employer signed this specific pharmacy program agreement or that the program generated savings for a named plan.
Why it matters for direct contracting
Much of employer direct contracting focuses on surgery, primary care or specialty episodes. Pharmacy spending is another area where employers want visibility into unit prices and intermediary compensation.
C082 illustrates a different procurement route: contract for a defined list of medications with transparent pricing mechanics, while leaving the rest of the pharmacy benefit intact. That could allow a self-funded employer to test a targeted benefit before making a larger PBM decision.
Whether the arrangement actually reduces total spending will depend on the selected drug mix, current net PBM economics, dispensing and administrative charges, member adoption, and any lost rebates or other offsets. The published documents do not quantify those effects.
The next evidence to watch is a named employer implementation, confirmed partner-PBM identity, the actual NDC schedule and fees, member utilization, and a reproducible comparison against the employer's prior net drug costs.
DirectContract is recording C082 as a published employer-facing pharmacy contracting opportunity, not as a signed or economically validated employer deal. Browse the Direct Contract Deal Tracker and the earlier Cost Plus Wellness additions covering direct primary care, dental and surgery.
Primary documents
Get the Weekly Direct Contract Briefing
Every Friday, the deals, the contract terms, and the market moves that matter for self-insured employers.
More in Deal Tracker
North Carolina State Health Plan Signs Multiyear Atrium Health Provider Contract
North Carolina's self-insured State Health Plan signed a multiyear contract bringing all remaining Atrium Health hospitals and physicians into its Access tier for 2027. The plan covers nearly 750,000 people, but deal-specific utilization, rates and realized savings are not disclosed.
Read the analysisCovenant HealthCare Joins Nomi Health's Direct Network for Michigan Employers
Covenant HealthCare has joined Nomi Health's Michigan direct-contracting network, offering participating employers access to 20-plus facilities and more than 600 physicians with a stated $0 member out-of-pocket design. Employer uptake, negotiated rates and realized savings are undisclosed.
Read the analysis